Skip to main content

Fraternities and Sororities

Delta Epsilon Phi Symbol, 1930

The Beaver, 1930

Fraternities were born in an attempt to keep rebellious students, who often took part in protests and riots, from disrupting activities on campus.  The fraternities and their social activities provided their members a sense of belonging, which ultimately helped cut down on the riots and revolts that previously were a norm on some campuses. 

When women joined the college scene, they too looked for a place to belong.  It would not take long for sororities to join the ranks of the fraternities on university campuses.  Three sororities existed at MSTC during the 1930s.  Beta Theta, Delta Epsilon Phi, and Sigma Delta made up the three sororities on campus in the 1930s; the two fraternities were Alpha Kappa Delta and Mu Sigma Tau.

Please refer to the Digital Minot exhibits on Fraternities and on the Beta Theta Sorority for a more in depth look at the Greek system at Minot State.